65th National Film Awards 2018 Winners List, Sridevi Wins Best Actress Award


The 65th edition of National Film Awards took place on 13th of April 2018 where Bahubali 2 and Rajkumar Rao led Newton were among the big hit, late actress Sridevi was awarded best actress award for her movie MOM and Vinod Khanna who died last year has been honoured with India’s highest film honour DadaSaheb Phalke Award.


National Film Awards


Last year Malayalam Film Industry won big, bringing titles like Best Actress to Surabhi Laxmi after many years. Akshay Kumar was criticised for being awarded the Best Actor for his movie Rustom in the name of Favouritism. This year the jury was also headed by Mollywood director Priyadarshan. Let’s have a look at the highlights of this year’s National Film Awards which will be given to the winners respectively on May 3.


The Jury

National Film Festival

The jury head Shekhar Kapoor announced the results on Friday after handing over the recommendations to Information and Broadcasting minister Smriti Irani. The jury panel features 10 members including Parinda screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla and Kannada director P Sheshadri. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey.


National Film Festival

DadaSaheb Phalke Award – Vinod Khanna

National Film Festival

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Film Debut Director – Pampally (Sinjar)

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film for National Integration – Dhappa.

National Film Festival

Best Film on Social Issues – Aalorukkam

National Film Festival

Best Child Film Award – Mhorkya

Best Film on Environment Conservation – Irada

Best Popular Film for Wholesome Entertainment – Bahubali The Conclusion (Telegu)


Artists That Won Awards


Best Actress Award – Sridevi (MOM)

Best Supporting Actor – Fahad Fazil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

 Best Supporting Actress – Divya Dutta for Irada.

Best Director Award – Jayaraj (Bhayanakam)

Best Actor Award – Ridhi Sen (Nagarkirtan)

Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas

Best Child Artist – Anita Das  (The Village Rockstar)

Best Screenplay (Original) – Thondimuthalum Driksaakshiyum

Best Screenplay (Adapted) – Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography – Bhayankam

Best Female Playback Singer – Waang by Sasha Tirupathi (Kaatru Veliyidai) 

Best Sound Design – Walking With The Wind (Ladakhi Film) 

Best Location Sound Recordist – The Village Rockstar

Best Music Director – Kaatru Veliyidai by Mani Ratnam 

Best Song – Kaatru Veliyidai (AR Rahman)

Best Background Score – MOM (AR Rahman) 

Best Makeup Artist – Ram Rajak

Best Costume – Govinda Mandal for Nagar Kirtan

Best Production Design- Take Off (Malayalam) Santosh Raman

Best Editing – Village Rockstar (Assamese) – Reema Das 

Best VFX – Baahubali 2

Special Jury Award – Nagar Kirtan 

Best Lyrics – March 22 (Kannada film) song – Muhuratna


Best Movies

National Film Festival

Best Action Direction –  Baahubali 2

Best Telegu Film – Ghazi

Best Gujarati Film – DHH

Best Choreography: Toilet – Ek Prem Katha (Gori Tu Latth Maar) by Ganesh Acharya

 Best Tamil Film – To Let 

Best Bengali Film – Mayurakshi

National Film Awards

Best Hindi Film – NEWTON, directed by Amit Masurkar, star cast – Rajkummar Rao

Best Kannada Film – Hebbettu Ramakka

Best Oriya film – Hello Aarsi

Best Film in Jasari- Sinjar 

 Special Mention Awards

Marathi Film- Morkhya

Oriya Film- Hello Mirror 

Parvathy, Take Off

Pankaj Tripathi, Newton

Shekhar Kapur is announcing the awards for Best Feature Films category

Best Critic On Cinema Award goes to Giridhar Jha, Special Mention to Sunil Mishra

Best Short Film Fiction- Maiyat

Best Film On Family Values- Happy Birthday

Best Direction- Pravash Ch Nivandan, Nagraj Manule

Best Cinematography- Eye Test,  Don 

Best Investigative Film- 1984 When The Sun Did Not Rise

Best Animation Film- Fish Curry, Maachar Jhol

Special Jury Award: The Old Man, Monday

Best Adventure Film – Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale.

Non-Feature Films – Best Educational Film The Girls We Were and The Women We Are. 

Click here to check out these winners from the Oscars 2018.

Vijay Alagar
the authorVijay Alagar
Creative Writer
Young and Ambitious; Better at Videogames than at life. Creative writer at daytime, Batman at night.

Leave a Reply